As standard, Google accounts come with 15GB free storage. This allowance is shared amongst three Google products – Drive, Photos and Gmail.
However, new Google storage policies are coming into force next year that will put your content at risk if you are not checking-in every two years. According to Express, the company has begun emailing users of its three most popular products notifying them of the upcoming change –
“We are writing to let you know that we recently announced new storage policies for Google Accounts using Gmail, Google Drive (including Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms and Jamboard files) and/or Photos that bring us in line with industry practices. Since you have previously used one or more of these products in your Google Account storage, we wanted to tell you about the new policies well before they go into effect on June 1, 2021.”
Google’s email notification continues by clarifying that if users have been inactive for 2 years in Gmail Drive or Photos, the company may delete the content into the product(s) in which you are inactive. Furthermore, the company also states that if users exceed their storage limit for 2 years, they may delete your content across Gmail, Drive and Photos.
The good news is Google will notify users multiple times before taking deletion actions. Moreover, the earliest date users will find their content removed is June 21, 2023, since the new policies will not come into effect till June 2021 after which Google users will have two years to comply.
You can read more about Google’s update to storage policies here.